Monday, April 4, 2011

Coldguy on Streaming

I wasn't intending to write this tonight but I recently received a message from LK stating that I was no longer allowed to be voiced in his stream. At first I was a tad shocked on this manner since to me it came out of left field however due to his reasons I can understand why he feels the need to do this. It is after all his stream and if he wants to go and set ground rules then that is fine. I mean if I were to come to your house and did not follow your rules that would be rude of me.

However the more I got into thinking of this manner the more I realized that as of late I tended to be the problem with various online avenues. I mean don't get me wrong I don't INTEND on being a jerk to anyone, but am I acting like a jerk?

Maybe a little explanation is in order.

When I go and stream or do something where I am putting myself online I try to be as lax and calm as can be. Sure there are times where I am not in a good mood and need to get things off my chest, but overall I try to be nice. My goal is to chat with the people of the chat room and talk about various things that may or may not be relevant. Essentially I am shooting the shit as they say.

During that time I may go and tell jokes, talk to other people, and answer questions honestly. All in all I try to have a good time on streams and for the most part people seem to enjoy that. I do not go into a stream with a mission to plug something or to sell myself or to ask favors for anyone, I just go in and have a conversation and let it take me where it needs to go.

This message recently had something in it that I was confused over and was wondering if it is true. I was "monopolizing" the conversation on the stream to the point where people were complaining. In my conversation I try to include everyone in the conversation from the people who are also streaming to the people in the chat room, so when the word "monopolizing" comes into play I need to tilt my head and beg the question on whether or not I did that.

I mean I do not INTEND on taking over the conversation and just have general chit chat, but I am smart enough to know that maybe I am doing such a thing subconsciously. As far as I have been aware of people enjoyed talking to me to the point where I actually was invited into a stream after posting a message saying that I was depressed on twitter.

Was that it?

I mean I was invited into a stream feeling like shit after coming to the realization that I am in some debt and needing to find a way to go and pay it off in full, I was emotional at the time and was talking from the hip, however I was invited to share that information and got great support from an emotional time.

Was it all of the My Little Pony talk? In a chat room that will often talk about disturbing images and discussions my little pony was my joke of saying. "Oh yea that may be disturbing but a kids show about ponys will make you want to be happy and positive." It was my little jab to make the conversation into something more positive.

Was it the fact that sometimes if I was playing a game I would say "if you want to watch me play the game hop on my stream" in no way I meant that as a self promotion, more or less saying that if you want to see what I was doing, and since the video is going to be nothing more then a desktop image to have an addendum to the chat itself. I understand if you hear me getting frustrated but have no context as to why, I was trying to allow you an avenue to see why.

Was it the fact that I sometimes streamed live concert footage from indie bands? Ok I admit that most likely was the main issue, however I tended to go and pick non signed artists and when the notice was in effect of the RIAA issues on the stream I stopped that immediately to avoid getting LK in trouble. See the station of its your house and I follow your rules statement.

So in short, if you want to see me stream follow my twitter or my >Stream page and I be happy to talk to you when I am going to stream. If I caused you any issues for streaming late night/early morning I would like to say sorry for that. My intent was simply to have fun and if I did not make you have fun I simply did not do my job. If you actually want to voice a complaint please feel free to make a comment so that I can address it and ensure that it does not happen again.

I once was sad but feel a little better getting that off my chest, so until next time take care.

No comments:

Post a Comment